Yala is the southernmost  province of Thailand. The southern part of the borders of Kedah and Perak of Malaysia.

Yala is about 1,084 kilometers south from Bangkok.

Historically Pattani province was the center of the semi independent Malay Sultanate of Pattani, but paying tribute to the Thai Kingdoms of Sukhothai and Ayutthaya. After Ayutthaya fell in to the Burmese in 1767, Sultanate of Patani gained full independence but under King Rama I again came under Siam’s control.

In 1909, it was annexed by Siam as part of Anglo Siamese Treaty of 1909 negotiated with the British Empire. Along with Narathiwat, Yala was originally part of Pattani province but they were split off and became provinces of their own. There is a separatist movement in Yala, which after being dormant for many years erupted again in 2004. The British Foreign and Commonwealth Office advises against all but essential travel in the province.

Attraction :

– Yala Center Mosque

– Wat Khuhaphimuk or Wat Na Tham Temple

– Tham Mae Nang Montol Cave

– Namtok Suthailai Waterfall

– Sakai Village

– Namtok Buke Pilo or Namtok Tawan Ratsami Waterfall

– Betong

– Phra Mahathat Chedi Phraphutthathammaprakat Temple

– The Largest Mailbox in Thailand

– The Swift

– Betong Hot Spring

– Piyamit Tunnel

– Bala-Hala Forest

Events & Festival :

– Asean Java Songbird Contest

– The City Pillar Ceremony

– Yala Product and Cultural Revival Festival

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *